England Part 3: No fun at Drake Circus Shopping Centre

Where were the clowns to cheer me up?

From the beginning I looked forward to Drake Circus Shopping Centre. I was so excited to go to Topshop and all the other clothing stores and brands I don’t have access to in Germany. I imagined it to be a great day of fun and delight.

Unfortunately, reality (again) didn’t measure up to my expectation although I’ve been trying hard to make it work. There was this girl R. with whom I shared my room but didn’t know before. We were put together because the boy I originally would have shared the room with somehow didn’t make it to the meeting point. The point is that she clung to me as if she were a little child. Always following me around, not making any decisions on her own, not doing anything on her own. No protest when I knew she wanted something else, no proposals on what she would like to do.

To sum up, she didn’t appear to have a will of her own – just like a delicate, empty doll, that could be tossed and kicked  around. Truth to be told, in the beginning I was curious about how much I could push before she would put up some resistance. But soon I realized that she never resists.  Never. That’s something I absolutely dislike. Where is her self-esteem?

Getting back to Drake Circus. I made some quite obvious hints that I didn’t want to be disturbed while shopping. That I took shopping serious and if  she didn’t like that she should go with someone else. Well, all this preparation for nothing. When I moved around to look at a dress she followed me. Having her breathing down my neck made all my enthusiasm vanish. She didn’t take one look at the clothes, why the heck did she go with me?

In the end, I couldn’t concentrate on the clothes and my frustration grew. I told her to sit down somewhere and wait for me till I was finished. That worked. We met some friends who then left early for the dinner at an Indian restaurant some of us wanted to go to.  R. knew I didn’t intend to go. And what did she tell me after the friends left? That she wanted to go the  Indian, too. What? She also wanted me to go because she didn’t knew the way back to our hotel where they would meet up. Girl, I am the one with the terrible sense of orientation who always end up getting  lost!

I politely pointed out that she could have gone with the friends we met earlier. Then I suggested that she could go back alone, I would even give her the map. I knew the way back because we walked the way several times before. But of course, she would never do anything on her own. Finally, I took pity on her, picked up a dress and a pair of earrings in a hurry and got her back to the hotel. And made sure that she knew that I wasn’t pleased.

PhotobucketAt least the dress and the pair of earrings I picked up there are lovely. The fabric of the dress is so smooth and soft, it also has a kind of glow like a highlighter. I love to feel it against my skin. It’s an understated piece that I can imagine wearing for years!

The earrings are from Topshop. There was no way that I would leave England without having bought anything from there. When I just couldn’t find any clothing to my liking I bought this pair instead. These ear studs look gorgeous with my black hair! They’re big but also very elegant. And versatile!

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Leave a Reply

