Elie Saab Couture Spring Summer 2011

Couture has started in Paris and to date I haven’t been much impressed. Chanel tires me with its white and beaded clothes, Dior makes me think that it has mixed up the season (last couture show for Fall/Winter was much more springy und summery!), Givenchy does something similar to last time (although I liked the cranes this time better than the skeletons). Let’s see what’s still coming. (Alexander McQueen?)

If there’s one show that I thouroughly enjoy then it’s Elie Saab. This time the dresses are much more to my liking, not too heavily beaded, not too sparkling. Making the woman look beautiful.

The show starts with light dresses, muted soft petal pink. Flowers blossom everywhere but the dresses aren’t overloaded, instead, it looks flowing, romantic. A pop of lilac and then the models wear the most gorgeous printed fabric I’ve seen: A lovely blurry flowerprint that resembles a water color painting, stains in dark green and pink and purple on pale pale pink. A dream. The show goes on with red, golden olive, off-white and black which I don’t pay much attention to because I’m still enamoured with the soft pink and print dresses. Those are stunning! Just take a look:

PhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucket
image credit: style.com

Leave a Reply

