Too hot to turn on the oven? Turn to panna cotta for dessert.

Photobucket

During the summer heat it’s no good idea to turn on the oven. No need to add more heat. But that doesn’t stop me from getting my dessert.  No-bake desserts are the way to go – like panna cotta.  It’s a delicious treat with overripe fruit on side. The panna cotta is cool and lightly sweetened whereas the fruit bursts with sweetness and aroma.

Usually, panna cotta is made of cooked cream but cream is no pantry staple in my kitchen. At home the only reason to have cream in the fridge was baking. And since baking is a rare occasion, cream was also rare. So when I moved into the dorms I took that habit with me. On the other hand, my dorm mates live on that stuff. There’s no pasta without a cream based sauce. I mentally roll my eyes when this girl a couple doors next to me tells me that she’s on diet. While pouring tons of cream into her sauce. Or eating Nutella as dinner. Are you serious?

But yes, no cream in this panna cotta. But yes, milk instead. I think of milk as the more versatile ingredient: You drink it as it is (which I don’t, tastes gross), you can make yourself a cup of cocoa (which I do), you can use in desserts like pudding and panna cotta (which I obviously do) and lots of other things.

This recipe is pretty streamlined, the only point you have to watch out is the gelatine. In the original recipe from la.times.com it’s 1 tablespoon for 1 liter milk. I halved the recipe and it didn’t work, so I guess that their gelatine is stronger than mine. That’s why you may have to adjust the amount.

  • 500 mL milk
  • 1 tablespoon powdered gelatine
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla sugar
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 pinch of salt
  1. Sprinkle the gelatine on 400 mL milk in a microwave safe bow and set aside for 10 min.
  2. Mix the remaining milk with the vanilla sugar and refrigerate. 
  3. Take the bowl with the milk and gelatine and microwave it so that the gelatine dissolves completely. Alternatively, you can heat it up on the stove. Add sugar and salt.
  4. Now slowly add the warm mixture to the cold vanilla milk and stir.
  5. Pour the mixture into containers, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.
This entry was posted in Dessert.

Leave a Reply

