Oatmeal cookies for lazy days and lazy me

 photo Haferkekse1_zps33ceaf19.jpeg

Lazy me sometimes craves cookies. But she can’t be bothered with chocolate chip cookies or anything with nuts. It’s too much work to chop  chocolate or even chop and toast nuts. But do you know which cookies don’t require any extra work? Oatmeal cookies! You weigh the ingredients, mix them together and portion the dough. And put the cookies into the oven. So simple that even lazy me manages.

The original recipe is from Pioneer Woman, I love the ways she presents her recipes. Very picture heavy, just up my alley! She calls the cookies brown sugar oatmeal cookies but since I don’t use brown sugar I just call them oatmeal cookies. Because of the white sugar I imagine that my cookies are very different in texture: White sugar results in crispy cookies whereas brown sugar leads to chewy ones. I like crispy cookies so I’ll stick to white sugar. These cookies are light and crispy, lightly sweet which means that I can eat the whole tin in one go.

 photo Haferkekse2_zps976d120e.jpeg

Oatmeal cookies

Makes about 55: Directions:
  • 120 g butter
  • 200 g white sugar
  • 1 Tbs vanilla sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 90 g all-purpose flour
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 150 g rolled oats

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C (fan).
  2. Cream butter, sugar and vanilla sugar until light and fluffy.
  3. Mix in the egg.
  4. Fold in flour, salt and baking soda.
  5. Fold in rolled oats.
  6. Portion the dough and bake for about 12 min till golden.

 

Leave a Reply

